Skip to content

Another Successful Workshop!

March 12, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Her name is Janet and this is her story behind her creation:

I had a vague idea of combining the Barbie body with an animal head and maybe other body parts. I also have been reading a biography of Cleopatra which debunks the standard (male) historian view that she achieved and maintained her considerable power only through sexual means, and argues that not only was she very charismatic and charming but she was highly intelligent, politically savvy and a superb manager. So I wanted an image that was sensual and powerful at the same time. I was hesitant about putting the seahorse tail on her as a huge penis at first, but you really helped me go ahead and do it, and now I love it!

I especially thank you for encouraging me to add the tail, with such good humor, because it helped me push aside some internal barriers about what I allow myself to express in my work. Self-censoring can be a problem in creating art!

-Janet

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

