Skip to content

Review of Altered Barbie Workshop #1

February 28, 2010

When my premiere Altered Barbie Workshop sign-up sheet was met with great enthusiasm from my customers and “Grand Opening” event attendees, I started signing people up on the spot. By the end of the grand opening celebration, my first altered barbie workshop was as good as sold out, and I had only a few spaces left for additional sign-ups.

So at first I was puzzled when only one student, the fabulous Bernadette, showed up the evening of the workshop. I realized later that I had learned a valuable lesson: Take Tuition Payment at the Time of Sign-Up. I’m thinking that way, the people who signed up will come! 🙂

Of course, I’m not angry at anyone. Bernadette and I had a fantastic time and she left the studio with a very beautiful and personal piece of altered Barbie artwork! I am so proud of her. I just feel bad for not organizing things so that more people would have had the opportunity to be there. So, here’s a peek at some of what you missed…

Even before you pick the Barbie you’ll be working with, I let you select your other “object.” The person, animal, vegetable, or whatever it is you choose to share the spotlight with Barbie in your artwork piece usually sets the theme, and makes it easier to select your other materials.

Then you get to pick your Barbie, or Barbie parts…

Then you get to choose your embellishments and outfitting…

Then you get to use fun stuff like glue, scissors, pliers, and markers to bring all your components together as a piece of art!

Just by having Bernadette there, I realized how much fun it is to do artwork side-by-side with another person. I can only imagine how exciting it would be to have a whole group of people in the workshop room – feeding off one another’s energy and giving one another an honest opinion or idea here and there.

I can’t wait till the next workshop though at this point, I’m not quite sure when it will be. Leave a comment on this post or email me if you are interested!

By teh way, this is the project I worked on during the workshop, when I wasn’t teaching or assisting Bernadette with her masterpiece. It’s for the SPCA!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nat Miller permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:06 pm

    I am dealing with a lot due to immense procrastination. and your very cheerful creative and enthusastic email was a of positive pleasure . now to take that in my heart when I go to next task. nat the cat

  2. kathy bliss permalink
    March 4, 2010 4:22 pm

    hi, I’ll be in town most of June and into July and would LOVE to attend a class with my niece. are you holding any classes then, and what is the cost? thanks!

    Kathy

  3. cathylybarger permalink
    March 8, 2010 7:56 pm

    I saw your Pieta featured on “Regretsy”. I love everything you do-Anorexic Barbie in particular. Now I have one more seller to stalk. Keep up the good work!
    Cathy

    • lavonnes permalink
      March 12, 2010 4:33 pm

      thank you, thank you, thank you. sorry it took me awhile to respond. i am new at all this computer stuff and must say, i resist it. lavonne

  4. lavonnes permalink*
    March 12, 2010 6:01 am

    Kathy, thanks for your interest in my class! I am undecided at this point whether or not I will be holding summer classes. All I can say is stay tuned to the blog – I will surely announce new classes here first!

    Nat the Cat and Cathy, thanks so much for your kind comments! It’s great to hear such things and makes it easy to say I will keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Altered Barbie Workshop #2 « OOAK Barbies Blog

Leave a Reply

