Skip to content

Sign up for Crochet Classes and Altered Barbie Workshops

January 23, 2010

I am teaching classes! Email me or come into the store to sign up.

Class #1    LEARN TO CROCHET!

What I love most about crochet is that I can make myself something to wear that’s different, something no one else will have. I have learned to make my own patterns, which means the sky’s the limit as to what I can make from crochet. These are some of the things I have made, that you will also be able to make in time:
  • dollies
  • tablecloths
  • bedspreads
  • afghans
  • hats
  • scarves
  • vests
  • a pant suit
  • my wedding dress!
  • dresses for Barbie (see below!)

I receive lots of compliments on my crochet garments and I always tell people “you can do it too.” Now that I am offering this class, there are no valid excuses for not learning how. It really is easier than it looks!
Space is limited so sign up soon!

Beginner’s Crochet, Part 1 Thursday, February 2nd 6:30 – 8pm, $20

In this class we will be making a scarf. Students will learn chain stitch, single crochet, double crochet, triple and mesh, turning and creating rows and basic designs. In between the first class and second class, students will be asked to complete the scarf until it is 36″ long.

Beginner’s Crochet, Part 2 Thursday, February 11th, from 6:30 – 8pm, $20

You will learn to crochet trim and fringe and get help with finishing your scarf as needed.

Class # 2 LEARN TO ALTER A BARBIE DOLL!

Q. What exactly is an altered Barbie? you ask.

A. It’s when you’ve changed more than just the original Barbie’s clothing. The Barbie doll itself has been modified, customized, or even deconstructed.

The below image shows a couple of altered Barbies, but really the possibilities are endless and the sky’s the limit. For help with ideas, check out all the OOAK Barbies on my website.

Altered Barbie Basics Workshop Thursday, February 18th 6:30 – 8:00pm

$20 fee for workshop plus $10 for materials (or you can save the $10 and bring your own materials)

Come rummage through my “stuff” (props, clothes, dolls, beads, fabric, accessories, all kinds of “junk” ) to find your inspiration for creating your very own altered Barbie! When finished, students will be given the option to leave the piece in the gallery and offer it for sale, or take it with them to keep or give as a gift.

Space is very limited to sign up right away!

Call me at 707 644-OOAK (6625) or email me at lavonne@ooakbarbies.com

To keep informed about new classes and all OOAK Barbies news as it happens, sign up for my newsletter.

Here is a photo of my supply area. Just look at all those drawers! I hope you will come and create with me at one of my classes!

Don’t forget: You can host your own Altered Barbie Private Party!

Invite your friends or family to a party at my place where you will learn the basics of doll altering and let your imaginations run wild! You can pay for everyone or get your buddies to each pitch in. Space is limited to 8 people. Email or call me for more information!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika Kyler permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:31 am

    hi im erika and i would like to learn how to crochet. i love desigining new things. I was browsing and ran across your website. Please contact me via email .Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. Sign up for Crochet Classes and Altered Barbie Workshops « OOAK … | DollMerchant.Com

Leave a Reply

