Skip to content

Tutorial: How to Create One of a Kind Barbie Nipples in a Few Simple Steps!

March 12, 2010

Perfect Nipples by LaVonne Sallee

You’ve probably heard me say this before – I enjoy saying it all the time especially when I am being interviewed for TV or the newspaper – but I’ll say it again now:

Nipples Are My Specialty

I have perfected altered barbie doll nipples. And it’s your lucky day because I am about to give you my nipple knowledge right here in an OOAK Barbie Nipple Tutorial! It’s my first tutorial on the blog!

Supplies

  • Barbie doll (naked)
  • Pencil with eraser on the end – does not have to be a new pencil or eraser, but the surface of the eraser must be even and flat
  • Acrylic paint in one or two colors that are similar to your Barbie doll’s skin tone – for this tutorial I am using Delta Ceramcoat paint (available at your local craft supply store) in Medium Flesh and Autumn Brown colors. One color works fine, but two colors can look more natural.
  • Varnish (again I use Ceramcoat) in your choice of Satin, Gloss, or Matte finishes. Any of these finishes will work and I decide which to use based on the barbie project.
  • Fine tip paint brush that is new or very clean, with flat or rounded handle-end tip. If the tip of the handle is pointed, it won’t work very well.

The Steps to Perfect Nipples (from left to right)

Instructions

  1. Choose your paint and shake the bottle to mix it up, making sure some paint goes into the bottle cap area if possible.
  2. Remove cap from paint bottle and place it paint side up on your work surface
  3. Dip the eraser end of your pencil into the paint bottle cap, gathering a generous glob of paint #1 (the lighter color, if you are using two colors of paint) on the eraser end surface.
  4. Center the eraser on the Barbie doll’s breast, touch it down upon the breast just long enough to be firm in your touch, then immediately pull it straight up and off. Repeat steps 3  & 4  for the doll’s other nipple and then let dry for an hour or more.
  5. Repeat the above steps for a second coat of paint in the same color as the first coat. If this second coat doesn’t fill the entire space of the nipple (as determined by the first coat) – that is OK! It can look more natural if the second coat doesn’t spread out as much as the first coat.
  6. Dip the handle-end tip of the paintbrush into paint (use paint #2 for this step, if you are using 2 different paint colors), and gather a generous glob of paint on it.

7.  Center the paintbrush handle tip over the center of the nipple, touch down on it firmly and steadily, then immediately pull up off it again. Repeat this step with the other nipple.

8.  Let nipple paint dry for an hour or more.

9.  Repeat steps 6-8, except this time use a lighter touch. Don’t press down on the nipple with the brush, just let the paint on the end of the brush touch the top of the nipple. Then pull up immediately. This should create a very “erect”-looking nipple. Go ahead and smile at it – you know it’s smiling at you! Let doll dry for an hour or more

10.  Seal paint with a coat or two of your varnish of choice. Use the brush end of your fine-tip paintbrush to apply the varnish. The varnish should completely cover the painted nipple.
11.  Let each coat of varnish dry for an hour or more.

And that’s it! Wasn’t that easy?

Ask any questions you might have in the comments and I’d also like to know if there’s something else you’d like me to do a tutorial on. So please leave any suggestions you might have!  Thanks!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. Karin permalink
    April 1, 2010 2:16 pm

    I just learned something I never thought I wanted to know…my day is now complete!

  2. Lynn Di Nino permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:07 pm

    excellent job LaVonne, you’re humor is at it’s best here as you describe the steps. Generous of you to share what you’ve invented. . .

  3. Angry German Kid permalink
    October 17, 2010 6:08 pm

    Woooow.

  4. Nutdip permalink
    October 21, 2010 3:46 pm

    Do you ever do pink ones? Or just brown…

    • October 22, 2010 1:37 pm

      with all the comments i realize how sheltered i have been. i have seen my mothers nipples and my daughters. while in gym class i made it a point not to look.
      i usually do the nipples in a shade darker the the color of the barbie skin. i have tried with a color lighter than her skin but it does not look right to me.
      lavonne

  5. Nutdip permalink
    October 21, 2010 3:47 pm

    That last comment wasn’t meant to be rude…it’s just that most light haired women have the pink sort and most dark haired women have the brown sort. Usually… you know. :-)

    • Felly permalink
      October 22, 2010 4:41 am

      I’d imagine you’d just use a pinker or rosier coloured paint, with just the same technique. Like every other person on the planet, everyone has a preference on what colour nipple they like! :)

    • October 22, 2010 10:33 am

      you are assuming that she is a natural blond. i have never seen a person with this color hair that is a natural color.

      • erthemama permalink
        July 26, 2011 10:45 am

        LOL! You’re awesome.

      • Lulu Garcia permalink
        May 2, 2013 12:56 pm

        Ever seen someone who is Scandinavian?

  6. kamiah permalink
    October 22, 2010 5:38 am

    I grew up withBarbie and there was never a nipple on her then so I dont think she needs one now what next is she going to have pubic hair . This is wrong , Barbie was meant to be Barbie the way she always was not this way .It just gives kids something to talk about they dont need to be talking about

    • Dan permalink
      October 22, 2010 8:04 am

      People have nipples. It’s a natural fact. I think children already know that they have nipples, and putting them on a Barbie doll isn’t going to traumatize them.

    • Dermr permalink
      October 22, 2010 6:35 pm

      Thank you kamiah. Your sobering brand of commentary is is just what the internet needed.

    • October 23, 2010 5:05 am

      I’ve neither thought to put nipples on Barbies, but I like the pictures. They look more human.

  7. Joan permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:24 am

    That all very well but how do you make a vagina!? Without it, this project will never be complete!!!

    • Mike permalink
      October 22, 2010 1:55 pm

      I used to work in the toy section at Goodwill and I’ve observed that most Barbie dolls have molded on underwear (most Barbie dolls are donated without clothes) so painting a vagina or adding pubic hair is not needed. I have always found nippleless Barbie’s to be off putting and creepy. I think there’s no harm in painting nipples on them as long as you don’t molest them afterwards (they’re alive you know). But if your going to paint nipples on Barbie to be fair you’re going to have to paint nipples on Ken too.

      • October 22, 2010 3:19 pm

        when i have created a piece with ken (or gi joe, hasbro etc) barechested, i do paint on nipples. must say though that most of my pieces with a male in it, is dressed.
        actually most of my pieces with a male is a cross dresser.
        LaVonne

      • October 27, 2011 3:57 pm

        Mike, I just burst out laughing when I read, “I think there’s no harm in painting nipples on them as long as you don’t molest them afterwards (they’re alive you know).” Too funny.

        I am too lazy to add nipples to my dolls. If my dolls are undressed, they are just waiting to be clothed or to have a head removed. (Aaiieeee, I murder them and then revive them. New turn on Frankenstein’s activities, lol.) I admit, seeing add-on nipples do take me by surprise – so many years of smooth breasts conditioning, I suppose – but I blink and read on now. No biggie.

        BTW, some Hasbro Joes and all 12″ M & C Toys’ Power Team figures that I have, have nipples. Oh and some of the higher end Barbies have nipples minus the coloring.

        Thanks for this tutorial, LaVonne. May I submit the link to this article in a blog post I am doing this month? I’m taking on the topic of “nippled” dolls and action figures. I think your tutorial would add a nice touch – wink – to the article.

        Sincerely,
        D7ana

  8. anonymous permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:27 am

    Barbie goes from prudish to bombshell in 6 easy steps!

  9. FatSean permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:56 pm

    How about making Ken some junk?

    • October 22, 2010 3:11 pm

      most of my ken’s are dressed and no need for junk (except for one). look on my web site ( http://www.ooakbarbies.com ) and search for #5722 ( God gives Adam a condom )

      • erthemama permalink
        July 26, 2011 10:50 am

        That’s 5752, “GOD GIVES CONDOM TO ADAM”. ;)

  10. Becky permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:55 pm

    This project makes me want to find all of my kids old barbies and give them the nipples they deserve! Poor Barbie has been nippleless for too long! Btw I think what you are doing is a great way to recycle old barbies and give them new life again. Very creative :)

  11. Bob permalink
    October 26, 2010 8:24 am

    ok, so i’ve viewed this post 3x and all I keep thinking is “Why?’. Of all the things a person could spend their time doing, why this?

    Then again, i could understand if someone took a matchbox car and gave it working headlights, that would be cool. So is prob just a gender/orientation thing.

  12. Amit permalink
    November 28, 2010 10:50 pm

    Oh my god.. barbie got nipples.. that made me horny
    FAP FAP FAP

    LOL

    barbie should have pubic hair

  13. Chanel permalink
    February 25, 2011 9:41 pm

    Finally barbie has nipples. Could you please give barbie and ken genitals haha im tired of seeing flat surfaces .

  14. February 28, 2011 10:08 pm

    I’m a guy and figured that, since I don’t have attractive nipples, it would work for me.

    I’m sorry to say that I don’t have perfect nipples after doing this. I think that the eraser might be too small. Should I use a dowel instead?

  15. Aaike permalink
    April 2, 2011 11:14 pm

    dear LaVonne.
    many thanks to show us all the perfect making of a dream.
    Yes. beautifull nipples belong to females.
    you have make me very happy as a boobs person.
    Go on and make some more.. complete the female of our dream,
    perhaps with a puzzy
    because,
    i can see You are the person to bring yoy to all the Barbie fans
    lots of love & greatings

  16. Ana permalink
    June 24, 2011 1:53 pm

    Hey LaVonne! These nipples look super! ;o)
    I am a beginner with modifying fashion dolls and at the moment I am trying to achieve nipples that look very relaxed and soft, like blobs of paint showing the concentric tones of colour, but without a sharp shape, if i’m explaining it properly… would you just stop at step 8, or would you do something else? I loved this tutorial, thank you so much for it! Great work!! ana x

    • lavonnes permalink
      June 24, 2011 6:19 pm

      Yes, I would stop at step 8 and maybe subtle variations in color. LaVonne Sallee’, Artist http://www.ooakbarbies.com Cell:415-305-2821 O.O.A.K. Barbie Gallery 310 Georgia St. Vallejo, Ca. 94590-5907

  17. bob Merdle permalink
    September 16, 2011 6:37 pm

    Okaaaaaaaaay
    Can you go one step further in making her more ‘naturally realistic?

    • lavonnes permalink
      September 17, 2011 7:41 am

      HI I assume you mean pubic hair? To date I have no diorama with anyone naked below the waist.

      LaVonne Sallee’, Artist http://www.ooakbarbies.com Cell:415-305-2821 O.O.A.K. Barbie Gallery 310 Georgia St. Vallejo, Ca. 94590-5907

  18. VITTU permalink
    April 15, 2012 5:13 am

    Je voudrais des poils pubiens aux BARBIE. Donnez-moi une idée pour en créer une, SVP, vos tétons sont très réussis. En les peignant, j’ai récupéré des cheveux de chacune .

  19. February 6, 2013 3:34 pm

    Velcro makes very suitable pubic hair. Cheap and easy, too.

  20. Slate permalink
    February 12, 2013 10:36 am

    Although i do agree with the Velcro being a good cheap and effective method for pubic hair, i worry that the square or rectangular shape of Velcro pads may rob the details your adding of its full potential in being varied and achieving higher realism. However it sounds like a fine starting point or test run . kudos for your creative and intuitive thoughts.

  21. sheer cups and blouse permalink
    August 17, 2013 8:23 pm

    You wouldn’t need visible nipples on Barbie if you kept her in a warm room.

  22. March 15, 2014 10:07 am

    just curious – wouldn’t a pencil eraser create a large nipple? Not being critical by any means as I’m anxious to try your method – you do such good work, Lavonne! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Recent artwork: Barbie is Bad to the Bone, Barbie Battles a Vulture « OOAK Barbies Blog
  2. Los mejores enlaces de la semana | Mundochica | Moda, decoracion y sexo
  3. Nippel für Barbie | Kotzendes Einhorn
  4. with great power comes great resposiblity… an 8 year old boys fantasy | doodoobrain
  5. Viral Links Of The Day | Viral Mixtape
  6. Barbie Needs Nipples Too!! | The Luxury Spot
  7. Uncanny Dolly: Anatomically Correct Barbie | dissociatedpress.com
  8. The Offending Nipple | Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

